News Releases

CSA seeks new members for Mining Technical Advisory and Monitoring Committee

Sep 12, 2017

Toronto - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) is inviting applications for new members to join the Mining Technical Advisory and Monitoring Committee (MTAMC).

The MTAMC serves as a forum for communication between the CSA and the mining industry, and advises the CSA on a variety of industry and professional developments related to securities regulatory issues.

The MTAMC is composed of 10 to 12 volunteers who generally serve three-year terms. Members are drawn from across Canada and different sectors of the mining industry, ranging from early stage exploration to commercial production. The MTAMC meets a minimum of twice annually, although it may meet more frequently should circumstances warrant. The British Columbia Securities Commission and the Ontario Securities Commission facilitate the meetings via teleconference.

Committee members typically have significant technical experience and a strong interest in securities regulatory policy as it relates to the mining industry. Familiarity with securities legislation (NI 43-101, NI 51-102) and policies that the CSA is responsible for is beneficial. Individual practitioners and representatives of public mining companies (small through large), mineral industry associations, consulting firms, and other interested persons are invited to apply in writing for membership on the MTAMC. Applicants should indicate their areas of practice and/or specialization, and provide a summary of their relevant experience.

Interested individuals should submit their applications via email by October 6, 2017. Please forward applications and any queries regarding this CSA Notice to:

Chris Collins, B.Sc., P.Geo., MBA
Chief Mining Advisor, Corporate Finance
British Columbia Securities Commission
Telephone: (604) 899-6616
|| Craig Waldie, M.Sc.A., P.Geo.
Senior Geologist, Corporate Finance
Ontario Securities Commission
Telephone: (416) 593-8308
​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

​​​​​​​ ​​​

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission

Alison Walker
British Columbia Securities Commission

Jason Booth
The Manitoba Securities Commission

David Harrison
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

John O’Brien
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan

Hilary McMeekin
Alberta Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Andrew Nicholson
Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick

Steven Dowling
Government of Prince Edward Island
Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission